Watch SpaceX launch 60 more Starlink satellites for its broadband internet service live – TechCrunch


SpaceX is set to launch the latest batch of its Starlink satellites on Thursday, with a target lift-off time of 2:19 PM EDT (11:19 AM PDT). The mission will take off from Kennedy Space Center in Florida, and there’s a backup opportunity tomorrow at 1:57 PM EDT (10:57 AM PDT) in case weather or any other issues prevent a launch attempt today.

The launch today will add to SpaceX’s growing constellation of operational Starlink satellites on orbit. There are now over 500 of these circling the globe, as SpaceX conducts private beta testing of its high-speed, low-latency consumer internet service and prepares for an open beta launch later this year. The goal is to create a scalable, eventually globe-spanning service that can provide service where previously unavailable, or to customers who had to rely on shaky or slow connections in past.

The launch today includes use of a Falcon 9 first stage booster that has flow twice previously, including first during SpaceX’s landmark Demo-2 Crew Dragon mission, the first ever for the company to carry human astronauts. SpaceX will also be attempting to recover the booster yet again for another future launch. One of the two fairing halves that protect the cargo atop the Falcon 9 was also used previously, on two separate occasions, for other Starlink satellite launches.

The livestream above will begin roughly 15 minutes before the target liftoff time, so at around 2:04 PM EDT (11:04 AM PDT).



Source link

More from author

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related posts

Advertismentspot_img

Latest posts

Sunday Pick 6 At Saratoga Bolstered By $257,811 Carryover – Horse Racing News

Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. ...

After PSG fans send warning, Solskjaer speaks out on Pogba talks

By Conor Laird Published: July 24, 2021 10:11 pm Last Updated: July 24, 2021 10:17 pm   Manchester United boss Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, on Saturday, has...

Cameron Norrie reacts to demolishing Taylor Fritz in Los Cabos semifinal

No. 1 seed Cameron Norrie delivered a big performance on Friday in Los Cabos to make his fourth ATP final of the season....

Want to stay up to date with the latest news?

We would love to hear from you! Please fill in your details and we will stay in touch. It's that simple!